Zuppa Toscana (copycat recipe) – ★★★★★

11025628_10205791631328096_3535206344104096119_n

Zuppa Toscana recipes are all over pintrest. There are so many that I probably have about 6 different variations pinned in my “recipes to try” board because I cannot decide which one could be better. This winter my Zuppa Toscana recipe problem was solved. My brother-in-law’s wonderful girlfriend, Leah, told me about this amazing soup she and her sister made. I looked at the recipe on her facebook page and thought, “Alright this is it! If Leah thinks this one is the best then it must be the best.” I promptly deleted the other pins so as to not get confused with all the recipes. A few weeks later I made the soup. You guys, I cannot say it enough, this recipe is amazing! What is even more crazy is that we made it without bacon. The plan was to make a big pot of soup and take it over to my father-in-law’s house for dinner. Since he was eating with us I tried to subtract as much sodium as possible which meant the bacon had to go. I would describe this dish as creamy, hearty, spicy, and comforting. There is something to be said about a big ol’ bowl of soup that really does warm the soul. Perry gave this recipe a full five-star rating. Here is why:

I love soup, sausage, potatoes and all things spicy. There was no way I wasn’t going to like this recipe. At first I was unsure because of how creamy the broth looked. I thought dairy was supposed to ease spiciness, but as far as I could tell it was a great pairing. The broth goes down smooth because of how creamy it is but the spicy aftertaste is the real treat. Kelsey used spicy Italian sausage so it had that extra kick. I give this recipe five stars because not only was it delicious but it also filled me up which is not something many soups can do. I can’t wait for the left overs.”

Serves: 10     Calories: 290 per serving     Time: 1 hr

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Italian sausage, we used the spicy stuff
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, less if you do not like it too hot
  • 3 large russet potatoes, cubed (skin is optional)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 cups of kale, chopped
  • 64 oz of chicken broth, we used less sodium
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1.5 cups of whipping cream
  • 1 hearty tsp of white pepper

Directions:

  1. In a large pan, brown the sausage and stir in the pepper flakes. Transfer to a dish and set aside
  2. To the same pan add the onions and garlic and sauté for 10 minutes, until onions are tender.
  3. Stir in chicken broth and water. Bring to a boil.
  4. Add the potatoes and cook until soft (approximately 20-30 minutes)
  5. Once potatoes are cooked, add the whipping cream, cooked sausage and white pepper. Cook until heated through.
  6. Add kale just before serving.
  7. Dish and enjoy!

*Photo is an original belonging to me

*Recipe adapted from http://www.bigoven.com 

Leave a Reply

