Rosemary Dijon Pork Chops – ★★★★★

10460780_10205679246798553_1547332638115588507_n

When I say I am terrified of cooking pork chops I mean “I’ve been married to a man who loves pork chops for 5 years and this is only the second time I’ve ever made them for him” terrified. I over cook meat. Ask Perry and he will gladly tell you how many times I’ve ruined a recipe because I just cannot stomach the thought of eating possibly undercooked meat. For real you guys I could survive an apocalypse off jerky and be happy as a clam. Perry kept dropping hints that he was craving the comforts of a home-cooked pork chop so I turned to my trusty sidekick, pintrest. I found the original recipe at http://www.kitchen-concoctions.com but adapted my own little recipe from theirs. The only reason I adapted my own for this one is because with a cross-country move and 2 kids (one of which is only 3 months old) it’s not very feasible to buy a 6 pack of nice brown beer to dump only one in a sauce. We’ve been sipping on coors light for the past few months, if the mood strikes, so thats what I had in sorts for beer. That being said, the sauce was still amazing with the cheap-nowhere-near-brown-hued-or-robust and I would suggest using any beer you can get your hands on so long as it isn’t banana bread or chocolate pretzel infused etc. The recipe was simple enough that even I was able to pull it off (with coors light nonetheless) and the flavor was fantastic! Perry gave 5 stars and here is why:

I enjoy pork chops, Dijon, and beer. This recipe sounded like a score to me, except that it was pork chops. Kelsey has some sick fear of cooking pork chops and I have a sick fear of eating pork chops that she cooks. Last time she did pork shops she “slow cooked” them. Basically she made pork chop jerky in her slow cooker. However this dinner was a pleasant surprise. The pork was succulent and the sauce…. The sauce is what deems this dinner worthy of 5 stars. Be warned that the sauce is really rich, so don’t go dumping it on the steamed veggies and rice you may be having on the side. Imagine having a perfect chop with a velvet Dijon sauce herbed with pungent rosemary. Yeah that’s exactly how it is.”

Serves: 4-5     Calories: approximately 334 calories per chop with nice ladling of sauce    Time: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 4 pork chops, I used boneless about 1/2 inch thick
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 3/4 cup of beer, brown ale is recommended but coors works too.
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 3 tbsp butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped (+ more for garnish)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. Season both sides of pork chops with salt and black pepper. Place on a greased 9×13 baking dish
  3. Whisk together beer, Dijon, honey, butter, rosemary and garlic. Pour this mixture over the pork chops.
  4. Bake pork chops for 25-30 minutes.
  5. Remove pork chops from sauce and roasting pan
  6. Heat a saucepan over medium heat and the add juices from roasting pan. Stir in the whipping cream and boil until reduced consistently stirring.
  7. Serve the chops with cream sauce drizzled overtop.
  8. Enjoy!

*Photo is an original belonging to me

*Recipe adapted from http://www.kitchen-concoctions.com 

Leave a Reply

