Coconut Rice – ★★★★★

11011471_10205880654833628_8590377794422196381_n

I sincerely think that every bride-to-be should put a rice cooker on her wedding registry before the Kenmore electric mixer in tiffany blue. I use my rice cooker at least 3 days out of the week. It is good for grains, pasta, veggies and in some instances even meat. This one kitchen appliance makes my cooking experience so easy. While I’m focused with the main dish my rice cooker is taking care of the side dish. We are like the perfect pair in my kitchen. So ladies and gentlemen take my advice and register for the rice cooker 🙂 PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS RECIPE USES A RICE COOKER. IT IS A NECESSARY TOOL FOR THIS DISH. This recipe is absolutely divine. You may be turned off by the idea of a rice flavored with coconut but please believe me when I tell you that this rice has only the slightest “taste” of coconut. It has more fragrance then anything else. This rice is cooked in coconut milk giving it an ultra creamy texture, and that is the gimmick here. This is not a sweet dessert rice, but a silky savory side dish that goes great with just about anything. We’ve had it with satay, pork chops and tonight we had it with a copycat recipe of sweet fire chicken. I would imagine this rice to pair well with spicy shrimp and all variations of curry as well. With my handy rice cooker it is super easy to throw together and will probably become my staple side. Perry gave 5 stars and this is why:

When Kelsey told me she was making coconut rice I immediately thought of the sweet rice and mangoes that is offered as a desert item at our local Thai joint. I didn’t understand how she was going to serve it with satay, but I thought it smart to keep my mouth shut and go along with the program. I was surprised when I took the first bite because it was not at all what I expected. It looked like normal rice, it smelled like coconuts and it tasted like smooth restaurant steamed rice. I will say that there is a VERY subtle coconut aftertaste but it is not overbearing at all. I quite liked this rice and Kelsey has made it 3 times since the first go. I’ll give 5 stars for taste, texture and shock value.”

Serves: 4     Calories: 136 per serving     Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of long grain rice
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of cilantro, chopped

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients to your rice cooker and stir to combine.
  2. Set cooker to cook and when it is done your appliance should automatically switch to “warm” (approx 15 minutes).
  3. Let sit for a few moments than fluff with a fork.
  4. Serve and enjoy!

*Photo is an original belonging to me

*Original recipe adapted from Melissa d’Arabian over at http://www.foodnetwork.com

Leave a Reply

