Fresh Pesto – ★★★★★

ImagePesto is one of my many vices. No matter what restaurant we go to, if pesto is on the menu it is pesto I’m ordering. From pasta to pizza, pesto is my thing. Since I took on learning how to make my own pasta I figured “heck why not learn pesto too!” Big mistake my friends because now my fridge will always be stocked with this rich green goodness. Literally we’ve had it on the homemade pasta, topped on sandwiches and even mixed into scrambled eggs. This stuff is not only delicious but super easy to make and I cannot believe it took me this long to figure out. Perry gave five stars and here is why:

Kelsey is a freak for garlic. I usually complain because she uses so much of it that I cannot taste anything else but in this case I’m happy she overdid it. The basil and parmesan is sharp enough to stand out separately from the garlic and it all comes together really nice. We use this pesto on everything and I doubt we will get sick of it because it is that tasty.”

Serves: yields 1 cup of pesto     Calories: 311.5 / (1/4 cup)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh basil
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Put all ingredients in a blender or food processor and combine until it is a nice paste-ish consistency.
  2. Serve over pasta or on sandwiches or anything else you can think of. Trust me you’ll be licking the spoon clean 

*Original recipe belongs to Elise at http://www.simplyrecipes.com

*Photo is an original belonging to me

 

3 thoughts on “Fresh Pesto – ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

