Ry-Thai Baked Chicken and Peanut Sauce – ★★★★★

Image

Last week I attempted to make Thai chicken wings but being who I am I bought the absolute wrong kind of chicken for the recipe. Anyone else out there try to make chicken wings with chicken drumsticks? No? Only me? Thought so… Needless to say I had a TON of peanut sauce left over from my attempted chicken wings. My neighbor Ryan suggested that I make some homemade chicken nuggets to dunk in the peanut sauce. I was completely sold on the idea and now I have this recipe to give you guys 🙂 I have a few breaded chicken recipes on here so I used my previous knowledge to craft this recipe. Don’t feel like you are bound to this exact recipe though. Play with the spices and see if you can make something even better! I know that when I make this again it won’t be exactly true to the recipe because I like to try different spices. Naturally this was a hit. Perry even went so far as to say he liked the chicken by itself also. This is huge coming from a guy who doesn’t usually like chicken. He gave full stars and here is why:

“Kelsey’s peanut sauce is a favorite of mine. I could eat spoonfuls of it that is how much I like it. Even if the chicken sucked this recipe would have gotten five stars for the peanut sauce alone. Luckily though the chicken was just as good as the peanut sauce on its own. It was really crunchy and the breading had a lot of flavor. I’m not sure what spices she used but I could definitely taste paprika and it was an awesome smoky addition. Full stars!”

Serves: 5          Calories: 223/2 pieces of chicken + 50 calories/1 tbsp peanut sauce    Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients for Peanut Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp fresh minced ginger
  • 1/3 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 3 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • If you like it spicy add some siracha 

Ingredients for Chicken:

  • 1.5 lb boneless skinless chicken breast tenders
  • cooking spray
  • 1.5 cups panko crumbs
  • 1.5 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 1.5 tbsp paprika (I used sweet hungarian)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • pinch of red chili flakes (if you like heat)
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Spray baking sheet with cooking spray
  3. Mix together panko and spices in a large bowl
  4. Whisk the egg in a separate bowl
  5. Clean and trim chicken
  6. One piece at a time, dip in egg then roll in panko mixture and set on baking sheet 
  7. Complete until all the chicken is coated and bake for 15 minutes
  8. While baking the chicken put all peanut sauce ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth
  9. Serve chicken hot with peanut sauce and enjoy!
  10. ***You will have a TON of peanut sauce left over so freeze it for later use or cook up some Chicken Satay 

*Photo and recipe are originals belonging to me. Feel free to post recipe on your own blog but please link to my blog for credit.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ryan says:

    Call me biased, but I really liked these. And I totally agree with Perry that peanut sauce could save just about anything but this chicken certainly wasn’t in need of rescue. Thanks again for the sampler! I’ll bring some by when I take a crack at it.

    -Ryan

    1. Lol thank you so much Ryan! You saved my behind coming up with this idea otherwise that peanut sauce would have gone to waste 🙂 can’t wait to see what you do with this recipe!!

Leave a Reply

