Hearty Beef and Barley Stew – ★★★★★

Image

I made this when Perry had been diving in the cold winter waters of the Pacific. I had never had barley, and because I grew up on chicken I never had a taste for beef either. This stew really opened my eyes to new flavors and we all absolutely loved it. It had a fantastic creamy broth and there were so many veggies I felt pretty guiltless eating it.Perry gave this 5 stars and here is why:

For years now I’ve been hinting to Kelsey that Beef and Barley Stew was my childhood favorite. I never mentioned that it was Campbell’s soup so she thought she was up against my mom’s home cooking. Needless to say this recipe was better then any bowl of Campbell’s I’ve had during my adolescence. It was loaded with hearty potatoes, peas, carrots and, my favorite, barley. It was just what I needed when I had spent the evening diving. Five stars for completely mastering my childhood favorite.”

Serves: 10             Calories: 309           Time (including prep): 2 hours 

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices bacon, diced
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1.5 pounds stew beef
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 cup sliced celery
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped onion
  • 6 cups beef broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/3 cup pearled barley
  • 1 (1lb.) bag of large carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 3 large potatoes, peeled and cut in cubes
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • 1 cup of frozen corn
  • 2 tablespoons flour blended with 2 tablespoons cold water

Directions:

  1. I find it much easier to have veggies prepped first. Wether you do it the night before or chop and slice before you start your stew you’ll be thankful that you aren’t trying to stir the pot and chop an onion all at the same time. So do yourself a favor and prep your veggies/meats
  2. Cook bacon until crisp. Do not drain grease.
  3.  In a large bowl combine flour, salt and pepper. Add beef pieces to the flour mixture and toss to coat.
  4. Add the bacon (including the bacon grease) to the beef mixture.
  5. Heat a large pot over medium high heat. Add oil, celery, onion, and meat. Cook, stirring occasionally, until beef is browned and onion is transparent.
  6. Add beef broth and bay leaf. Bring to a simmer, cover and cook over medium low heat for 45 minutes.
  7. After simmering add barley and carrots. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 25 minutes.
  8. After simmering add potatoes and repeat simmering process for an additional 25 minutes.
  9. Add frozen veggies and cook for an additional 10 minutes
  10. Dish and enjoy!

*Photo is an original belonging to me

*Original recipe belongs to southernfood.about.com

Leave a Reply

