Cambodian Lemongrass Curry – ★★★★★

ImageThe boys and I flew back east to have what we call “second Christmas” with my family. While we were there a friend of ours introduced me to a lovely spice shop in Princeton, NJ called Savory. I want to remind you that I do not make any profit from this blog and am not employed by Savory to review their store/products. This is 100% my honest and unpaid opinion. From the second I stepped inside the store I was in love. They had everything from sweet to salty and everything in between. I promised Perry I would only pick one thing since we had to bring it home on the plane. I walked the store for a while admiring their chai tea and lavender sugars when a section dedicated to curry caught my eye. We love curry so I knew my one item would be purchased from that corner of the store. They have a huge variety consisting of sweet, mild and even ghost curry (which Perry took a heaping taste of and almost died haha). I wanted to try something light but still a bit spicy, and without hesitation the employee nearby directed me to the lemongrass curry. I gave it a taste and I was sold! This blend makes a beautiful paste that is to die for when mixed with coconut milk. It is sweet and creamy with the first taste but ends with a nice heat. I chose to make it with carrots, corn and green beans because that is what I had in my fridge. Next time Perry suggested that I try potato, peas, baby corn and maybe bamboo shoots. You really cannot go wrong with your choice of veggie because this curry blend is so versatile that I think it will compliment any veggie. Also, no curry is complete without rice 🙂 Perry gave it 5 stars and this is why:

“When I was in my 20s my friends and I had our favorite Thai spots in L.A. We knew where to go for a good curry and naked shrimp. This recipe reminds me of those days and the awesome food we ate. There isn’t much room for improvement. My advice with any curry at any restaurant or even at home is to have extra sauce on hand. You can never have too much curry sauce. I give this five stars for flavor and a great trip down memory lane.”

Serves: 4     Calories: 285 (does not include rice… only curry and veggies I used)     Time:  40 mins

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp water
  • 3.5 tbsp Cambodian lemongrass curry powder (http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/blends/cambod.html)
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1.5 cups coconut milk
  • 2 cups of carrots, sliced diagonally
  • 1.5 cups of green beans
  • 1 cup of sweet corn
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp light brown sugar
  • OPTIONAL: White/brown rice

Directions:

  1. Mix together water, curry powder, canola oil and soy sauce to make a curry paste. Set aside
  2. Heat coconut milk over low heat for 6 minutes.
  3. Carefully spoon the curry paste into the heated coconut milk and combine well.
  4. Stir in your vegetables/lime juice/brown sugar, cover and cook until tender/crisp. Approximately 20 minutes. Stirring occasionally.
  5. To thicken your sauce cook uncovered for an additional 5-10 minutes.
  6. Serve over rice or serve on its own and enjoy!

*Photo is an original taken by me

**Original recipe belongs to Mike Johnston, owner of Savory Spice Shop:  http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/recipes/cambodian-lemongrass-chicken-curry.html

Leave a Reply

