Pineapple Teriyaki Slow Cooked Beef – ★★★★★

ImageWe are quickly approaching the first day of winter, and if you have not already broken out your slow cooker I recommend you do it now. Literally stop reading this and dust off your crockpot this instant! The chill has arrived and there is no better way to add  extra warmth to your home like the smell of a home-cooked meal. This recipe is so easy that I think even Perry could pull it off 😉 The flavor is perfect, but I have read reviews where people say that theirs came out too salty. Keep this in mind when you buy your teriyaki sauce. If they have low sodium or sweeter options for sauce I would go that route. I’ll let you in on a little trick I did to lessen the salty taste during the directions part of the recipe. Perry gave full stars and here is why:

“This dinner was just what I needed after a crappy day at work. I  could smell it cooking outside when I walked from my car to the apartment so I knew instantly  it would be a five star recipe. The flavor was explosive, and I say that because the pineapple slices were so juicy I almost couldn’t stop eating. I can not find fault with this recipe.”

Serves: 7+      Calories: 308.3      Time: 5-6 hours (high) / 7-8 hours (low)

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs stew beef
  • 24 oz (two jars) teriyaki sauce (reduced sodium is best)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 20 oz can pineapple chunks, drained with juice reserved
  • optional: toasted sesame seeds to top, rice/veggies to serve

Directions:

  1. Place beef in bottom of slow cooker (you can use frozen or unfrozen… We used unfrozen)
  2. Pour sauce and garlic overtop
  3. Cook on high for 5-6 hours or on low for 7-8 hours. My slow cooker cooks extremely hot so it only took us like 4 hours on low. If your cooker also cooks hot just keep an eye on it.
  4. When you have 30 minutes of cooking left throw in the pineapple chunks.
  5. TIP 1: if you think your sauce is too salty add a little bit of brown sugar (tsp by tsp until you get desired taste.)
  6. TIP 2: Our sauce was thin and salty so what I did was I added 1 tsp brown sugar AND a mixture of 1 tsp corn starch to 2 tsp reserved pineapple juice. This thickened up the sauce and made it sweeter at the same time. Worked like a charm!
  7. Serve over rice or veggies of your choice
  8. Enjoy!

*Photo is an original belonging to me

**Recipe adapted from http://www.eatathomecooks.com

Leave a Reply

