Ham and Pineapple Fried Rice – ★★★★★

ImageSomething Perry has been craving lately is fried rice. We don’t get take out often and hardly ever visit Chinese Restaurants to eat (my almost 3-year-old won’t allow it) so I had to whip something up at home. I’ve never been any good at cooking rice so I had to search for an easy recipe with good ratings. It did not take me long to find this five star recipe, and believe me it is worth all five stars 🙂  I did not use “ham” but instead I used bacon. If you follow my lead I would cut the added salt down by half because the bacon adds a lot of its own salt. Other than that the recipe is super easy, fast and delicious. Perry gave all five stars and here is why:

I’ve had a hankering for fried rice so when Kelsey asked me what I wanted to eat this week that was all I had in mind. The recipe she found was a really good change from the more “traditional” fried rice. Ham and pineapple always go together but I would have never thought to throw them in fried rice. I loved this dinner and it was even better the following day. I give five stars for flavor.”

Serves: 5-6      Calories: 330    Time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white rice, uncooked
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced including tops
  • 1 cup ham, diced (we used bacon)
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • 1 (8 ounce) can pineapple chunks, drained
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt (If you use bacon cut this in half)
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce

Directions:

  1. Bring the rice and water to a boil in a saucepan over high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the rice is tender, and the liquid has been absorbed, 20 to 25 minutes. (Mine took about 18 minutes. just peek on it and go with your gut but don’t let it burn)
  2. Spread cooked rice out on a rimmed baking sheet and refrigerate until cooled, about 20 minutes. (Do not skip this step! It is crucial)
  3. Heat sesame oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.
  4. Cook and stir the green onions, ham, and peas in the hot oil until onions have softened, about 2 minutes.
  5. Stir the pineapple chunks into the skillet; cook until pineapple begins to darken, about 2 minute.
  6. Push ingredients to the side of the wok, and pour beaten egg in the center. Cook until egg begins to solidify, about 30 seconds. Stir together all contents of the skillet.
  7. Mix the cooled rice, sugar, salt, white pepper, and garlic powder into the skillet; stir constantly to keep from sticking. Cook until heated through, about 3 minutes.
  8. Sprinkle the rice with the soy sauce, and stir to combine.
  9. Dish and Enjoy!

*Original recipe belongs to http://www.food.com

**Photo is an original belonging to me

 

Leave a Reply

