Hungarian Chicken Paprikash – ★★★★★ (Old family recipe)

Image

Growing up Chicken Paprikash was my dad’s go to recipe for rainy, snowy and cloudy days (or the nights my mom didn’t feel like cooking) This recipe brings back many great memories for me so I’m sorry if this entry is extremely long. I would not be doing my dad justice if I didn’t share how awesome and special his old family paprikash recipe is. I think this was my dads favorite way of giving my mom a break because he made sure we were busy and entertained for what felt like all day haha! He would load us into the car and take us to the supermarket because since this dinner was never planned we hardly ever had all the ingredients on hand. My sisters and I would unload the groceries while dad cut up the onions (I mean what little girl wants to chop onions in the first place haha) Next would be the argument over who would have to peel the carrots and who would get stuck with the potatoes… It always seemed like I got stuck with the potatoes haha! The big soup pot would be on the stove simmering for what seemed like hours emitting an amazing aroma that I’m sure even the neighbors down the street could smell. One memory that really stands out above the rest is my dads “secret ingredient.” He always made a big deal about it because supposedidly my mom didn’t know what it was. When she asked we would all put on our best Princess Bride voices and say “truuuueeeee loveeeee.” My dad was always good at taunting my mom about the secret ingredient but now as an adult she has told me she always knew it was bullion cubes haha! The second best part of cooking paprikash is always saved for last, and that is making the dumplings. Dad would always measure the egg to flour ratio and my sisters and I would take turns stirring than dropping spoonfuls of dough into the boiling paprikash. As an adult this is still one of my favorite parts because I can still hear my sister Katelyn laughing as I made the biggest dumplings while splashing hot broth all over the stove. This recipe is not only rich in sentimental thoughts but is bursting with flavor that compliments the hearty veggies and dumplings as big as your head! I want to thank my dad for giving us these fond memories and I cannot wait until my little guy is big enough to drop dumpling dough into our paprikash 🙂

The dumplings alone are worth five stars. This stew is delicious and will last for days. We like to mash the potatoes and carrots and pour broth over them like a gravy.”

Serves: 6+     Calories: I don’t have a number since this is an old recipe. I will have to      calculate although I cannot imagine it’s a low number… 

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 bag of celery stalks, sliced
  • 2 large onions, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 to 1.5 lbs of chicken, rinsed and trimmed (we use breasts but you can use thigh or leg too)
  • 1.5 quarts low sodium chicken broth (depending on how much chicken you use you might need 2 quarts.)
  • 1 chicken bullion cube (this is the secret ingredient haha)
  • 2 1/2 tbsp hungarian paprika 
  • 5 lb bag of potatoes, peeled and quartered (you can use red, russet or whatever you like)
  • 1 large bag of carrots, peeled (you can slice or use whole. I like them sliced)
  • 1 bag frozen corn. 
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 4-5 eggs (you want the dough to be sticky not dry)

Directions:

  1. In a large pot melt 2 tbsp of butter. When melted add onion, celery and salt and pepper to taste. Saute until onions become transparent.
  2. Add chicken and cook until browned on both sides (approx 3-5 minutes) 
  3. Once chicken is browned add chicken broth and bring to a boil. 
  4. Reduce heat and bring broth to a simmer. Add bullion, paprika, carrots, potatoes and corn. Cook until vegetables are tender and chicken is no longer pink in the middle (approximately 20-25 minutes)
  5. In a separate bowl mix together flour and eggs until you get a sticky dumpling dough. 
  6. Bring paprikash broth back up to a boil and spoon 1-2 tbsp clumps of dumpling dough into the broth. Let them cook for approximately 3-4 minutes or until no longer gooey in the center.
  7. Spoon into a bowl and enjoy! 

*Photo is an original taken by me

*Recipe belongs to my dad which belonged to my gram before him 🙂

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sean powell says:

    I can’t believe you told mom the secret ingredient. I’m glad you have good memories
    Cooking this meal, it was a good way to have quality time . thanks for sharing
    Love Dad

    1. Hahah she told me that Janine spilled the beans about the secret ingredient! I live making this because it always brings back those awesome memories! Love you dad thank you for everything!

Leave a Reply

