Moroccan Chicken with Lemon and Olives – ★★★★✩

Image

This dish, also known in Morocco as Tajine Msir Zeetoon, is not your typical “usually-dry-baked-chicken.” This recipe results in extremely moist cutlets bursting with flavor. I could eat the olives and lemon for days. This was my first ever Moroccan recipe and I’m pretty excited to try more. This dish is so easy to make and really impressed my husband. Perry gave this one four stars and here is why:  

“I’ve never been to Morocco but I have heard that their cuisine is heavily spiced and very delicious. Needless to say I was pretty happy when Kelsey pulled this recipe off. I can not fully explain how great of a combination the olives and lemon are on this chicken. I took off a star because I heated up the left overs up in a microwave instead of the oven (Kelsey may never forgive me) and it turned the olives into mush. So if you eat left overs the next night for dinner stay away from the microwave and take the time to preheat the oven. Had I not ruined the left overs this recipe would have 5 stars, so maybe it would be best to cook it for a larger number of guests or a family bigger than 3.” 

Serves: 4 (however one cutlet was enough for me so more like serves 8)   Calories: 279

Ingredients: 

  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp ground red pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced (I used about 6 because.. well I love garlic haha)
  • 8 chicken cutlets
  • cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can of fat free, less sodium chicken broth. 
  • 24 pimiento stuffed olives, coarsely chopped
  • 8 lemon slices. 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325
  2. Combine cilantro, ground cumin, paprika, ground ginger, ground turmeric, ground red pepper, salt and garlic in a large bowl. Mix well. 
  3. Add chicken and toss to coat. 
  4. In a single layer, arrange chicken in a 13 x 9 baking dish coated with cooking spray. 
  5. Spoon flour into a separate bowl. Add juice and broth stirring until smooth. Drizzle flour mixture over chicken tossing to coat. 
  6. Top chicken with chopped olives and lemon slices
  7. Bake for an hour or until a meat thermometer reads 180 
  8. Serve with steamed veggies or cous cous and enjoy!

*Photo is an original belonging to me

*Original recipe found at http://www.cookinglight.com 

 

Leave a Reply

