Thai Chicken Wings with Peanut Sauce – ★★★★✩

ImageIn my hometown there is a pub called “Patricks” that makes the absolute best wings. I remember frequently after Saturday night church my dad would pick up 50 wings and we would feast after mass. I’ve never tried making my own because of the fear of ruining a perfectly good wing haha! I saw this recipe in The Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes and decided it was time to take a chance. My number one suggestion is to get good quality wings. Our grocery store stocks only one brand of “virgin” wings. Obviously you dont want to get ones that have already been cooked and smothered in sauce so the pickings may be slim. The ones we bought were HUGE and had a lot of skin/fat which is not my favorite but these were awesome anyways. Perry gave them ★★★★✩ and this is why:

“I’m holding onto a star because of the quality of chicken Kelsey used in this recipe. The sauce was tasty and the meat was moist I just did not like the thick skin on the wings. I suggested to Kels that maybe next time she should throw them in the oven for a few minutes before serving them to make the skin a little crispy. All in all the recipe was delicious I just wish the chicken wings and drums themselves were better quality”

Makes 24 wings      Each wing is 53 calories

Ingredients:

– 24 Chicken wing drummettes (about 2.25 lbs)

– 1/2 cup of bottled salsa

– 2 tbsp creamy peanut butter

– 1 tbsp lime juice

– 1 tsp soy sauce (low sodium if you can)

– 2 tsp fresh grated ginger

– 1/4 cup of sugar

1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter

– 3 tbsp soy sauce

– 3 tbsp water

– 2 cloves of garlic, minced

Directions:

1.) Place chicken in your slow cooker. Combine salsa, 2 tbsp peanut butter, lime juice, 2 tsp soy sauce, and ginger. Pour over chicken wings. Toss to coat

2.) Cover and cook on low heat setting for 5-6 hours OR  on high heat setting for 2.5-3 hours.

3.) Meanwhile, for the peanut sauce, in small saucepan combine sugar, 1/4 cup of peanut butter, 3 tbsp of soy sauce, water and garlic. Heat over medium high until sugar is dissolved and the mixture is smooth; set aside (mixture will thicken as it cools)

4.) Drain chicken, discarding the liquid. Return the chicken to the slow cooker. Gently stir in the peanut sauce. Keep warm in a covered cooker on low- heat for up to 2 hours. 

5.) I garnished with sesame seeds because, well frankly, I love sesame seeds! 

6.) Enjoy!

*Photo is original taken by me

**Original recipe found on pg 12 in The Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Today, I went to the beachfront with my children.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear
    and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

    1. That is too funny! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Very quickly this website will be famous among all blog users, due to it’s nice articles

    1. Thank you so very much for your kind words

Leave a Reply

