Slow Cooker Hungarian Goulash – ★★★★✩

ImageI’ve been trying to master more Hungarian dishes because supposedly I have rich Hungarian blood flowing through my veins. The only “traditional” dish I had growing up was paprikash so I’m pretty excited to be able to learn more about my ancestry and teach my son about it too. This dish was very flavorful and I would even eat it without the noodles. The only thing I would alter completely is the beef. Next time I will try chunks of meat instead of the ground beef. It was not awful with the ground beef but with a sauce that rich I feel it would be better with hunks of beef in every bite. I found this recipe in a cookbook where you will see a few more recipes pop up. I love love love slow cooker recipes! Perry gave this one 4 ★★★★✩ 

“This one was really good but I was confused about what goulash actually was. I was picturing a beef stroganoff when Kels told me what she was making. I liked it but it was not what I expected. Very good flavor and with my high cholesterol it was a treat to have a beef dish. I would eat it again. Also I was able to have left overs for a few days which was great. I like not having to take frozen TV dinners for lunch”

Serves: 10   Calories: 90/ serving   Carbs: 9g

Ingredients:

-1 lb. extra lean ground beef

– 1 Lg onion, sliced

– 1 clove garlic, minced

– 1/2 cup of ketchup

-2 tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce

-1 tbsp brown sugar

– 1.5 tsp salt

– 2 tsp paprika

– 1/2 tsp dry mustard

– 1 cup of water

– 1/4 cup of flour

– 1/4 cup of cold water

Directions:

1.) Place meat in slow cooker and over with onions. 

2.) Combine garlic, ketchup, worcestershire sauce, sugar, salt, paprika, mustard and one cup of water. Pour mixture over the meat.

3.) Cook on low for 5-6 hours

4.) Dissolve flour in 1/4 cup of cold water. Stir into meat mixture

5.) Cook on high 10-15 minutes or until slightly thickened. 

6.) Serve over rice, noodles or vegetables. 

7.) Enjoy!

*Photo is an original taken by me

**Original recipe can be found on Pg. 63 in the Fix it and Forget it Lightly cookbook. 

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Hungarian Goulash – ★★★★✩

  1. Thank you so much for this recipe! I have almost this exact recipe, except it wasn’t for the crock pot. Crock pot makes this SO much easier! I definitely recommend that you use stew beef instead of ground beef. And add a dash of cayenne pepper for a little something extra 😉

    1. I’m so glad you found the recipe Rachael! I agree stew beef chunks is totally the way to go! Cannot wait to make it again with your suggestion of cayenne 🙂 Thank you for your sweet comment and happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

