Low Cal Swedish Meatballs – ★★★★★

Image

Swedish Meatballs are a comfort food I love but not one my hips really enjoy. I found this low cal recipe and it came pretty close to it’s calorie loaded stepsister. It’s rich but not overly done. Definitely a recipe I will be keeping posted on my fridge for a while! I did not add mushrooms because they are not my thing so check out the original recipe if you want them that can be found at http://www.laaloosh.com Perry loved it too and gave it ★★★★★ here’s why:

For the days I don’t have leftovers I bring a frozen t.v dinner and apparently Kels has finally caught on how much I like Swedish Meatballs. Maybe the freezer shelf full of frozen Swedish Meatballs was a good hint. I have a hard time believing that these are healthy that is how good they are. I will be asking for these again.”

Serves: 4    Calories: 219/6 meatballs (doesn’t include noodles so make sure to add that separate if you are counting)

Ingredients:

– 1 lb extra lean ground beef

– 1 lg. onion, chopped

– 2 lg. celery stalks

– 1 egg

– 1/4 cup of whole wheat breadcrumbs

– 1/3 cup of fresh parsley, chopped

– 3 cups of fat free beef stock

– 3 oz fat free cream cheese

– 1/4 tsp cinnamon

– 1/4 tsp nutmeg

– 1/8 tsp ground ginger

– 1/8 tsp cardamom

– 3 garlic cloves

– Egg noodles (optional but definitely suggested)

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350. lightly spray your baking dish (9×13) with non-fat cooking spray. Place the dish in oven while it preheats.

2.) Blend or process onion parsley, garlic and celery.

3.) Place blended mixture in a bowl and add beef, egg, breadcrumbs, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and cardamom. Combine well.

4.) Make 24 1 inch meatballs and remove hot dish from the oven. Place meatballs in the dish about 1/2 an inch apart. Press on them lightly to slightly flatten the bottom.

5.) Bake for 15 minutes and turn them over baking for an additional 10 minutes.

6.) In a large nonstick pan add beef broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer gently adding the meatballs. Cover and cook for 25 minutes.

7.) Remove meatballs from the sauce and set aside.

8.) Add cream cheese (I softened mine a little beforehand), and slowly whisk until cream cheese is combines.

9.) Pour sauce over meatballs (and noodles if you want to make with noodles) and sprinkle some fresh parsley on top (and maybe a little parmesan cheese like I did:) )

10.) Enjoy!

*Original recipe found at http://www.laaloosh.com

**Photo is original taken by me.

Leave a Reply

