Slow Cooker Italian Sausage and Peppers – ★★★★★

ImageI love my slow cooker especially being in school all morning and afternoon. I set it in the morning and come home to an apartment that smells amazing and get to give the family a good hearty meal. I found this recipe in a place I never EVER look… on the McCormick spice. I never trust an endorsed recipe to be that good but I went out on a whim and learned I should stop being such a recipe snob. This was a treat and I cannot wait to make it again. The sausage practically melted in my mouth and the sauce was not overly herbed taking away from the sausage and peppers. Perry gave it a whole ★★★★★ and this is why:

“Kels has been into making Asian dinners a lot lately so I was happy when she said she was making sausage and peppers. I envisioned a sub sandwich with links of sausage topped with peppers but should have known Kelsey would give me something completely different. I would describe this recipe as a meat sauce you could eat by the spoonful.. or at least that is what I did.”

Serves: 10     Calories: 310 per serving 

Ingredients:

– 2 lbs. sweet italian sausage (if you get links cut into 1in. pieces if you get ground sausage crumble into 1in. chunks.)

– 1 medium yellow onion, sliced 1in. thick

– 2-14.5oz cans of stewed tomatoes

– 2-6oz cans of tomato paste

– 1 package of McCormick’s slow cooker italian herb chicken seasoning

– 1 red bell pepper cut into 1/2 inch strips

– 1 green bell pepper cut into 1/2 inch strips

– Pasta or whatever you want to put the sausage and peppers on top of. We used gemili pasta.

Directions:

1.) Place all ingredients except pasta in your slow cooker. Toss to coat well and cover with lid.

2.) Cook for 8 hours on LOW or 4 hours on HIGH

3.) Prepare whatever you want to serve with the sausage and peppers like pasta or a soft roll.

4.) Enjoy!

*Photo is an original taken by me

**Original recipe can be found at http://www.mccormick.com

Leave a Reply

