Spinach and Artichoke Lasagne – ★★★★★

530822_10200206505983453_282005239_n

Last night I tried my hand at lasagne for the first time. It was a good experience and I think I did fairly well! I’ve always heard how much of a pain it is to make lasagne but I actually had fun and didn’t find this recipe to be daunting at all. I only used half of the sauce that the original recipe called for so if you follow my instructions and use the same amount but feel it could use more know that it’s okay and if you want to use more next time use more. Just remember that the more sauce you use means more calories and quite frankly this tasted pretty darn amazing with the amount I used 🙂 Original recipe found at http://www.food.com. Perry loved it and without hesitation gave this dinner a full 5 stars!

“I’m noticing that Kelsey likes to take what would normally be a traditional dinner and put a whole different spin on it. If I told you we were having lasagne for dinner you would have thought noodles, cheese, sausage and some tomato sauce… Not in this house! Kelsey found a recipe for spinach artichoke lasagne and made it her own as per usual. This dinner is probably worth 10 stars but the wife makes me keep it at 5. I would have gone in for a third piece but Kels cut me off at 2. I’m glad she did because that means leftovers to take to work. I really like that she used alfredo sauce because it gave the lasagne a “spinach artichoke dip” feel, and honestly who doesn’t love spinach artichoke dip.”

Serves: 10-12    Calories: 380 (but remember the more sauce you use the more calories you’ll be eating)

Ingredients:

– Cooking spray
– 9 uncooked lasagna noodles, we used whole wheat noodles
– 1 onion, chopped
– 4 garlic cloves, chopped
– 1-14.5oz. can vegetable broth
– 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary, I highly suggest spending the extra and getting this fresh
– 1-14oz. can marinated artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
– 1-10oz. package frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained and squeezed dry
– 1-28oz. jar pasta sauce (white or red sauce), I used 16oz.
– 3 cups shredded mozzarella cheese, divided
-1-4oz. package crumbled feta cheese, you can use the herbed stuff but I didn’t want to take away from the rosemary so we used regular feta.

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a 9×13 dish with cooking spray.

2.) Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add noodles and cook for 8 to 10 minutes; drain.

3.) Spray a large skillet with cooking spray and heat on medium-high. Saute onion and garlic for 3 minutes, or until onion is tender-crisp

4.) Stir in broth and rosemary; bring to a boil. Stir in artichoke hearts and spinach; reduce heat, cover and simmer 5 minutes

5.) Stir in pasta sauce.

6.) Spread 1/4 of the artichoke mixture in the bottom of the prepared baking dish; top with 3 cooked noodles.

7.) Sprinkle 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese over noodles. Repeat layers 2 more times, ending with artichoke mixture and mozzarella cheese.

8.) Sprinkle feta cheese on top.

9.) Cover and bake for 40 minutes.

10.) Uncover and bake for 15 minutes or until hot and bubbly.

11.) Let stand for at least 10 minutes before cutting. Otherwise it will be a mess when you cut it. Live and learn haha 😉

*Original recipe found at http://www.food.com

**Photo is an original taken by me. 

Leave a Reply

