Lemon Chicken Stir Fry – ★★★★★

1118_10200177005605962_829783784_n

 

I have a greater respect for vegetarians and how they shop/cook after the last few recipes I’ve tried.  One night we all slap on a smile and go together making the grueling task of grocery shopping a little easier (kudos to my man for helping). I usually don’t know exactly when I’m making these family dinners because my husband’s work can be pretty demanding. This is really difficult when making vegetable dinners because it’s simply just not the same using frozen veggies. Since I cannot shop multiple times a week and I’m fairly new to mostly veggie meals I have to give a round of applause to those who do this on a regular basis. I’m sure with a little more practice I too can master the art. (I am aware this one has chicken and the last one has shrimp, I’m making remarks since most of my ingredients have been veggies recently.)  This recipe has a great little twist on the traditional stir fry. Lemon! I was a little wary at first but all I can say is wow. The lemon really brings out the flavor in the veggies and from here on out I’ll probably squirt some lemon anytime I make carrots 🙂 The original recipe called for mushrooms but since I don’t do mushrooms I substituted with bamboo shoots. Thats the beauty of being the chef you can make it custom to your own taste. So get crazy and try any of your favorite veggies in this one. I don’t think you can go wrong ❤ Original recipe found at http://www.eatingwell.com .  Perry gave this one a full 5 stars!

“Kelsey always makes a good stir fry but she told me this one was a little different. I thought maybe she was tricking me into eating cauliflower again. Surprisingly, the secret ingredient was not cauliflower it was lemon. I’m going to describe the taste as refreshing. Usually Kelsey adds a ton of garlic, that’s what she likes, but this time it was not so predominate because the lemon toned down it’s pungent taste. I cannot think of any changes that would make this stir fry better. It’s the best one Kelsey has made.”

Serves: 5-6      Calories: 225

Ingredients:

– Brown rice or wheat spaghetti

– 1 lemon

– 1/2 cup of reduced sodium chicken broth

– 3 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce

– 2 tsp cornstarch

– 1 tbsp canola oil

– 1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, washed trimmed and cut int0 1-inch pieces

– 1 small can of bamboo shoots (found down the ethnic food aisle)

– 1 cup of carrots, cut diagonally  1/4 inch thick

– 1 bunch of scallions, cut into 1 inch pieces

– 1 tbsp chopped garlic

Directions:

1.) Grate 1 tsp of lemon zest and set aside. Juice the lemon and whisk 2 tbsp of the juice with broth, soy sauce, and cornstarch in a small bowl.

2.) Cook rice or pasta according to directions on package.

3.) Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, until just cooked through, 4 to 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate. Add bamboo shoots and carrots to the pan and cook until the carrots are just tender, about 5 minutes. Add snow peas, scallions, garlic and the reserved lemon zest. Cook, stirring, until fragrant, 30 seconds. Whisk the broth mixture and add to the pan. Stir until thickened, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the chicken and any accumulated juices. Cook until heated through, 1-2 minutes.

4.) Serve with rice or pasta

*Original recipe found at http://www.eatingwell.com

**Photo is an original taken by me.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Chicken Stir Fry – ★★★★★

  1. Thank you so much for letting us know this lemon chicken stir fry. It looks good so I will share this to my friend who love surfing new recipes. Anyway, I’m looking a recipe for Pork Stir Fry because I want to learn on how to cook that one. Keep on sharing!

Leave a Reply

