Coconut Rice with Curried Summer Veggies – ★★★★✩

Image

My mom is one of the best cooks I’ve known but that also means I eat seconds and thirds of anything she makes when I go home. We went back to PA for what we call “second Christmas” and I definitely packed on the pounds this trip. This week we will be cooking light which isn’t a bad thing with it being the New Year and all 🙂 The rice is rich and the veggies have a nice spice. There is no meat in this recipe but I was full after my first serving. Definitely a great recipe to start off a New Year’s Diet! Original recipe found at http://www.fitnessrecipe.com   Perry gave this recipe ★★★★✩

“I’m sick and even though I can hardly breathe this dinner gets four stars. Today at lunch I ate a piece of chocolate and did not taste anything. I actually read the label to make sure I was eating chocolate. When I got home after riding my motorcycle in the cold I was not expecting to taste and enjoy dinner at all. I was amazed how much flavor I was able to taste with stuffed sinuses. I cannot wait to try this when I’m not sick because I bet the flavors are even better.” 

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

– 1 cup basmati or jasmine rice (I used brown basmati)

– 1 & 3/4 tsp. salt

– 1- 15oz. can of light coconut milk 

– 1 tbsp. canola or olive oil 

– 1 scallion, chopped

– 1 tbsp. ginger, peeled and finely chopped

– 1 large clove of garlic, peeled and finely chopped

– 1 & 1/2 tbsp. curry powder 

– 1 cup of vegetable stock

– 1 medium yellow bell pepper, seeded and sliced into 1/4-inch strips

– 1 baby eggplant, cut into 1/4-inch chunks

– 1/4 lb. green beans, trimmed

– 1 yellow summer squash, cut into 1/4-inch chunks

– 1 medium zucchini, cut into 1/4-inch chunks 

– 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper 

– 1/2 tsp. finely grated lime zest (I used a little more because I love lime)

– Freshly squeezed lime juice to taste

– 2 tbsp. freshly chopped cilantro (optional and since I couldn’t find it at the store I used dried)

Directions:

1.) Combine the rice, 1-2/3 cups water, 1 teaspoon of the salt and 3/4 cup of the coconut milk in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer, covered, about 20 minutes or until most of the liquid has been absorbed and rice is almost tender.

2.) Heat the oil in a large pan over medium heat. Add the scallion, ginger, and garlic; cook, stirring, 2 minutes. Stir in the curry powder and cook 1 minute.

3.) Pour vegetable stock, remaining coconut milk and the bell pepper and eggplant into pan; stir to combine. Cover and cook 5 minutes. Add remaining vegetables and salt and the black pepper. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Stir in the lime zest and lime juice.

4.) Spoon rice onto serving plates and top with curried vegetables. Garnish with cilantro if desired.

*Photo is original taken by me

**Recipe found at fitnessmagazine.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

