Chicken Wonton Tacos – ★★★★★

Image

I was in the mood for something different when I found this recipe. I’ve had it for a few months now and finally had the guts to give it a go. I don’t know what took me so long to try it but I really wish I would have made these sooner. This recipe is a “makeover” from an item on the Applebee’s appetizer menu. They are meant to be a starter but I figured since 4 of them are a serving it would suffice for dinner. It was the perfect amount of food and at 191 calories per serving I could not resist. There is a lot of flavor in these little guys so don’t overdo it with the BBQ sauce on the chicken. Also at least double the recipe because it only makes 8 wontons. You’ll want leftovers. Perry gave this 5 stars and these were his comments:

“At first I was not sure how I felt about a wonton wrapper taking the form of a taco shell. I’ve had all different kinds of tacos before and this just seemed too out there to me. Kelsey convinced me to give one a try and without hesitation I have it 5 stars. 4 of these was enough to satisfy me with a side salad so if you are on a diet these tacos should be your good friend. I liked that Kelsey did not use ground chicken like we usually do for our tacos because it made them seem more hearty. I am looking forward to having these for dinner again soon”

Makes 2.5 servings    Calories: 191 per serving

Ingredients:

  • 8 small square wonton wrappers
  • 4oz cooked skinless lean chicken breasts, trimmed and diced
  • 2 tbsp BBQ sauce (to keep this low cal stick to a sauce with around 45 cals/2tbsp serving.
  • 3/4 cup of dry coleslaw mix
  • 2 tbsp low fat sesame ginger salad dressing.
  • 2tbsp chopped cilantro

Directions:

1.) Preheat your oven to 400

2.) Spray the inside walls of a deep baking pan with nonstick spray. Drape the wonton wrappers over the pans walls in a diagonal manner making triangle shaped shells. Bake 3-4 minutes until just crispy enough to keep shape. Remove pan and let cool

3.) Cook up your diced chicken

4.) Combine chicken with BBQ sauce. Mix well and set aside

5.) In a microwave safe bowl combine coleslaw, salad dressing and cilantro. Mix and microwave for 45 seconds. Set aside.

6.) Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray. Carefully remove wonton shells from the pan and fill each one with a spoonful of chicken and coleslaw mix. Lay the filled wontons on their sides on the baking sheet.

7.) LIGHTLY spray the upward facing sides of the shells with cooking spray and bake for about 5 minutes until warm and crunchy.

8.) Enjoy!

 

*Original recipe belongs to http://www.hungry-girl.com/newsletters/raw/1552

**Photo is an original taken by me

Leave a Reply

