Orange Honey Carrots

Image

 

My mom always made carrot soufflé on Thanksgiving but I was not feeling so brave on my first go at cooking Thanksgiving dinner. I did still have carrots in her honor though! These carrots have a lot of flavor that I think helped round out the meal. Original recipe found at myrecipes.com

Serves 6

Ingredients:

– 1-1lb bag of baby carrots, rinsed

– 1 tsp grated orange rind

– 1/4 cup of fresh orange juice (We stuffed our turkey with an orange and an apple. The turkey was done an hour and a half before we ate so I used the orange that was still whole inside of the turkey. I don’t know if it added to the dish but it was definitely easier to juice the orange while it was warm.) 

– 2 tsp. butter

– 2 tsp. honey

-1/4 tsp salt

– 1/8 tsp pepper

Directions:

1.) Stir together all ingredients and 1 cup of water in saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer (stirring occasionally) for 30-35 minutes or until the liquid evaporated and carrots are glazed. 

*Original recipe found at myrecipes.com

**Photo is an original taken by me

Leave a Reply

