Poppyseed Bread – Family Recipe

Image

When it comes to Thanksgiving dinner most people get excited for the juicy turkey or the mashed potatoes or even the pumpkin pie. Not me. My favorite part has and always will be Poppyseed Bread. My mom has made this every single Thanksgiving as far back as I can remember. Thanksgiving this year will be hosted by me and my husband so I’m hoping everyone will love this sweet and moist loaf as much as I do. Please know that I realize how not healthy this recipe is but in all honesty it is one dinner a year and I don’t want to alter this recipe at all. I know it contradicts the name and purpose of this blog but let me have the holidays to indulge 🙂 Keep posted on the blog because I will post every recipe I use for my first ever Thanksgiving dinner! 

Makes 2 loaves

Ingredients:

– 3 cups of flour

– 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 3 eggs

– 2 1/4 cups sugar

– 1 1/2 tsp almond extract

– 1 1/2 cups milk

– 1 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil (I used canola)

– 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

– 1 1/2 tsp butter extract

– 1 tbsp poppyseed

 

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2) Add all of the ingredients to a large bowl and mix well.

3.) Butter and flour your bread pan and pour mixture to about 1/2 way full

4.) Bake for 40-45 minutes.

5.) When you take the bread out of the oven take a toothpick and stick it through the middle. The toothpick should come out clean. If it doesn’t put the bread back in for increments of 3-5 minutes.

6.) Remove from pan and allow to cool

 

 

Leave a Reply

