Mexican Chicken Pizza with Cornmeal Crust (This is the best dough I’ve ever made!)

Growing up on the east coast in close proximity to New York and with my hometown making the best pizza EVER (Croydon Pizza… Check it out) I’ve come to appreciate a good slice. In all my attempts these past few years to impress my husband with “dough spinning skills” I’ve never been able to make a good pizza dough. I have had the bagels with corneal out here in California and thought they were the best bagels I’ve ever tasted so I figured it would be the same with pizza dough. I was on the money with my hypothesis because I am confident in saying this crust is even better then that of Croydon Pizza.. Blasphemy I know…If you don’t like the toppings chosen for this recipe still try the dough because I believe it would taste good no matter what you put on it. Get creative and let me know what worked for you 🙂

Serves: 6-8       340 Calories/slice

Ingredients:

– 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

-1 tablespoon sugar

– 1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast

– 1/4 tsp salt (coarse sea salt is best if you have it on hand)

– 3/4 cup of warm water

– 1 tbsp olive oil

– 1/3 of cup cornmeal (Keep a little extra on the side)

– 1 1/2 cups of shredded Mexican blend cheese

– 1 1/2 cups cooked chicken breasts

– 1 14.5 oz can of fire roasted diced tomatoes or regular diced tomatoes, drained

– 1/2 yellow bell pepper

– 1/4 cup sliced green onion

– 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions:

1.) Heat oven to 450 degrees

2.) In mixing bowl combine 3/4 cup of flour, sugar, yeast, and salt. Stir in the water and olive oil. Beat about 2 minutes and stir in 1/3 cup of cornmeal and the remaining 3/4 cup of flour to make the dough ball.  

3.) Sprinkle a little flour on the surface you want to knead the dough on. Knead for about 5 minutes, until smooth and elastic. Cover the bowl and let it rise for 10 minutes.

4.) Spray a cookie/baking sheet with cooking spray and sprinkle with additional cornmeal. Press dough into a rectangular shape, and pinch with fork. Bake for 8-10 minutes (until edges start to brown)

5.) After dough is baked sprinkle with 1 cup of the cheese. Top with chicken, tomatoes and bell pepper. Sprinkle remaining cup of cheese. Bake for an additional 6-8 minutes until cheese is melted.

6.) Top with green onions and add cilantro.. Cut.. Serve.. Enjoy 🙂

**All photos are originals taken by me**

**Original recipe can be found at http://www.eatbetteramerica.com**

Leave a Reply

