Veggie Burgers

In the very beginning of our marriage my husband and I started getting sick of the only two recipes I knew how to make. He suggested before a shopping trip that we make veggie burgers. At the time I was not aware that you could easily buy veggie patties in the store (Yes, that is how domesticated I was at that point haha!) So I turned to the internet hoping to find a good recipe. You can imagine my amazement and my husbands laughter when we got to the frozen section of the market and there were tons of pre-made veggie burger patties. Regardless, I wanted to prove to my man that I could make my own veggie burgers and we have never bought a frozen veggie patty since. These are great because the recipe is super easy and it is a “pre-make” Whip these suckers up and let them freeze overnight. We like to make a double batch so that we have a patty back stock in a pinch. You can find the original recipe on tasteofhome.com but I have made a few modifications.

Serves: 6     One serving (patty) is only 241 calories!

Ingredients:

– 1-16oz can of reduced sodium kidney beans, rinsed and drained

– 1/2 cup of old-fashioned oats

– 2 tbsp ketchup

– 1 medium onion, chopped

– 1 medium carrot, shredded (I shred and then chop the shreds)

– 1 small sweet red pepper, chopped

– 2 garlic cloves, minced

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/8 tsp white pepper

– 6 hamburger buns (We like whole grain or wheat buns to compliment the oats in these patties.)

– your favorite burger accessories (tomato, lettuce, cheese, etc.)

Directions:

1.) Mix together beans, oats, ketchup, veggies, and seasonings until blended.

2.) Form into 6 evenly sized patties.

3.) Wrap in plastic wrap and freeze.

4.) When the hankering for a veggie burger hits pull them from the freezer and put on a nonstick baking sheet. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

5.) Cook for 15 minutes on each side (30 minutes total). Place on a toasted bun, accessorize and enjoy 🙂

**All photos are originals taken by me.**

*Original recipe can be found at tasteofhome.com*

Leave a Reply

