Baked Fruity Oatmeal Bars

Any recipe whose directions are simply “Mix together all ingredients and bake” is my idea of a dream recipe! I have been wanting to try new breakfast recipes for a while now because while cheerios are yummy and good for you I am getting tired of the breakfast monotony. I made this dish last night and it was perfect and sticky on top this morning. It tastes like an oatmeal cookie but you know it is much better for you without the flour and butter. I am still working on cutting the sugar by at least half so when I am successful I will edit this post with the healthiest ingredients I can muster up. Enjoy!

Serves: 4-6 ….. 1 serving (about a cup) is only 297 calories!

Ingredients:

– 1 egg lightly beaten

– 1-1/2 cup cooking oats

– 1/2 cup sugar

– 1/2 cup milk

– 1/3 cup canola oil

– 1/4 cup chopped nuts

– 1/4 cup fresh fruit of your choice (We used strawberries and will try blueberries next)

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2.) Mix together all ingredients in a large bowl.

3.) Pour the mixture into a greased 8-in square baking dish and bake for 25 minutes.

  

4.)Let cool, cut into squares, indulge 🙂

**All photos are originals taken by me**

Leave a Reply

